Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: Newbie needs help

Hello all,
    I'm just learning how to operate this forum so please be gentle with me. I need some advice on my 1949 Commander coupe. I have had the car for fifteen years and it ran super nice until I got the idea to "improve" it.* This has evolved into sporadically gettting all inspired and working on it until I came to needing something I misplaced (often my inspiration). I really feel that some mild success would serve to give me a measure of "stick-to-it").

My latest project was to put dual exhausts on. I had replaced the manifold with a modified one a few years ago. I took the car to a muffler shop where we all agreed that there was not enough room underneath for two, so back on with the original maniflold and a new Smithy muffler and complete side.

Next came locating a leaky manifold gasket . When we tried to start it, a gas line broke. To reach the fuel pump, I had to remove a heat shield held on by the two bolts for the valve side covers. I don't think I got them back on right.

Finally, when we tried to start it, it would crank fine unless we put in a squirt of starting fluid. Now when we crank it, just when it starts to catch it give off a loud squealing noise.

I would welcome any ideas about what is going on and how to cure it.

Whizzo AKA
    John Larkin
    whizzo7@yahoo.com
    Columbia MO
    Owner of Ernestine 1949 Commander coupe
    Last edited by whizzo; 02-15-2013, 01:12 PM. Reason: forgot email

Is the engine actually starting and running now?

Does the squealing noise stop after the engine starts?

Does it squeal when you rev it up? Usually that's a loose or worn fan belt.

The heat shield over the fuel pump, or onder the carb must be in place, especially with modern fuel that boils much more easily than original fuel. Pictures are in the shop manual and the chassis parts manual.