No announcement yet.

How to ID correct Delco window dist.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ignition: How to ID correct Delco window dist.

After reading in various threads here several glowing recommendations about installing a Pertronix, I'm also under the impression that I can't do so with my stock Prestolite dist. (62 gt) So what is/are some correct ID #'s for tracking down a used Delco-Remy window distributor? In answering, assume that I have little to no mechanical experience, and I'll need enough info to pass on to my son-the-mechanic, or at least to go looking on eBay myself, anyway. (and it sounds like there's a split jury here on the Mallory units.)

Thanks

Paul
    I finally have a Stude I can drive! (sort of)
    1962 GT Hawk, 4 speed, a/c

I sent you a PM. I think I have what you need.
    1962 Champ

51 Commander 4 door

Comment

I would also like to know the answer to the question.

thanks

Pat
      Pat Dilling
      Olivehurst, CA
      Custom '53 Starlight aka STU COOL

LS1 Engine Swap Journal: http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/jour...ournalid=33611

Comment

Since you do not really need the nice "Window" to use a allen wrench to set the points while running when you have Electronic Ignition, an early Delco will work just fine with Pertronixs Ignition.

These are the ones used on '51 to '59 Studes. & '60-'61 Hawks and have no "Window" they are very plentiful and long lasting even more than a Window type.
        Most of The internals of the upper portion of these, like the Delco Window type are the same as Cadillac, Buick, Pontiac, Olds, GMC, AMC and Chev.

Just about anytime you find an old Dist. with a drive shaft a FOOT long, it's a Studebaker V8! Look for the oval "Delco" tag and the specific shaped Rotor and or Window in the Cap to tell if it is early or late. There were only (3) V-8 Distributors, and you know what the Prestolite that you do NOT want looks like, pretty easy job to spot one.