Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

how much can you mill off a champion flat six head?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: how much can you mill off a champion flat six head?

HI, i've been looking for a aluminum high comp. head for a champion flat head six, can't seem to find one. i have a couple of stock spares, i'm a capable machinist, thinking about cutting one(it would be an easy set up). Anybody know how much you can take without any problems? Also i have an old rochester 2bbl carb, thinking about making an adapter for the stock stude intake, any input? Thanks, Pete

On the intake, the opening in the intake if smaller than the sum of the two in the carb will restrict the power to more or less what it would be with a one barrell the same size. You might be able to take two manifolds and combine them to make one big enough to take the larger carb.
    Diesel loving, autocrossing, Coupe express loving, Grandpa Architect.

Comment

I have taken .100" of a 1959 head, which has a higher compression than an early head. Depending on what head you are using will depend on the results,as well as if they had been machined before. Depending on how far you want to go with the Champ engine revealing the block from the valves to the cylinder is a worth while job.

I stayed away from the aluminum heads because they do get damaged after multiple torquing.

I have also made the champ work with a 4bbl carb but it didn't like it too much at low rpm. The higher it revved the better is was. If you want any more info I can post a like to some photos of it. Len.

Comment

Pete -

Question - what is the plan for removing this material from the head deck ?
        The reason I ask is...there is a reason there are high dollar machines to do this work. If the plan is to accomplish this on a mill with a fly cutter, might want to keep a spair head gasket and head around close.