Engine Turn Over After 20 Years

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: Engine Turn Over After 20 Years

Hey everyone I just would like to introduce myself I'm Dylan and live in Bakersfield, CA. I enjoy tinkering with anything that has wheels and a motor. This will be my first classic and it happens to be a Studebaker, I do not know the year or model to be exact. The car belonged to a family member, which her father owned but then parked it years ago, and a few months ago passed away. The car has been sitting in a storage unit for the past 20 years or so, and it so happened that I said I would take. So to start my questions off, keep in mind I'm a little newbie, but understand the basics of engines, and combustion. What would be the first steps that I should take to get the ball rolling? The first thing will be changing the oil, and filter, along with changing the radiator fluid. You guys have much a better understanding than I do with Studebaker's, I'm willing to learn, and get a better understanding. I appreciate everyone's input.

Dylan
    I own a 1955 Studebaker President "Speedster", sat garaged for 20 years
    pulled it out in January of 2013, she is now a weekend driver around town.
    "Making many miles, and many smiles a long the way".

sigpic

Welcome. Tell us what you have, please. year, model, engine, transmission, number of doors, and all that.

There is a tag on the firewall on the passenger side. It will say something like 60V-W4 2236 or something like that. We can tell most of what the car is by that and can more specifically help you.

My best advice is to take your time and learn what the car is and what it is not. Don't be in a rush to redesign it, as Studebakers are pretty well designed from the start.