General Studebaker Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• General Studebaker Questions

Ok so I am pretty new to the world of studes and have a few questions.

Do I need to use leaded gas? The motor is a 63'. So far I have ran it without lead, but not for very long. I was in the process of getting it running at the time.

Will modern oils with detergents hurt the motor?

Where can I find a spin on style oil filter?

Can I convert the motor from spin on filter to canister? If so, how easy is it to get a canister filter?

How hard is it to convert the to an electronic ignition?

I have a nice GM alternator, will it work on this car?

I heard one can mount a ford top loader 4 speed to the Studebaker motor but needs an adapter.. is this true? Has anyone tried this?

Finally, do local Automotive stores carry parts like clutch plates and etc? (3 speed with over drive)

You've all been great help with my questions so far and I thank you very much. The Studebaker community has to be one of the most knowledgeable and friendly communities I have ever joined. Thanks!

I can tell you unleaded gas is fine, but the ethanol is known to deteriorate rubber parts (like diaphrams in the fuel pump) over time. I've never had any trouble. Do NOT use E-15 or greater fuels. Most in the know will say to add ZDDP additive, but there are lots of discussions about that on the forum and in Turning Wheels magazine.

Modern oils are good to use.

I know many people have put in Pertronix electronic ignition. Some think it's good and some don't.
    "Madness...is the exception in individuals, but the rule in groups" - Nietzsche.

Comment

As for the oil filter, I use AC PF24 which can be found at most any parts stores. I also use the "WIX" brand but don't have the part number for that one.
      As far as the oil, there has been many discussions on it, and in The Turning Wheels Magazine.
      Use the search tab and be prepared for lots of reading.
      George King