Bending brake lines

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brakes: Bending brake lines

Plan to go to Harbor Freight to buy a pair of bending pliers. Or should I? Any advice or tool suggestions. Getting ready to put new lines on the 40 as the wheel cylinders are about ready to install.
    sigpic

I always do them by hand...

Comment

When are you coming over? <G> We are not that experienced. So any suggestions for us?
      sigpic

Comment

They do make more professional, kink-free bends, especially for tight curves. Their only problem is that making a sharp curve right next to the nut is sometimes difficult.
        Skip Lackie

Comment

bending pliers

I have used and own about 4 different bending tools including the new pliers type. Over the 50 plus years as a mechanic I too have bent a lot of lines by hand and or used the various tools but when it comes to bending those tight turns close to a cylinder I do love that new pliers type. Wish they had those 50 years ago. Just makes a so much nicer job of it on those tight places.
          Nick

Comment

Originally posted by Skip Lackie View Post
            They do make more professional, kink-free bends, especially for tight curves. Their only problem is that making a sharp curve right next to the nut is sometimes difficult.
            For about $26 you can get this bender at most FLAPS that will do that. Here's the youtube video of it in action.

http://shop.ebay.com/merchant/uncle-grub This is our new brake line bending pliers. You can bend and form brake lines without kinking them. Use them on cars,...

Just watch out for the picture of my in-laws at the start.

Bob

Comment

Is there a particular model or feature to look for? Will this one from Harbor Freight do the job OK?

Amazing deals on this Brake Line Forming Tool at Harbor Freight. Quality tools & low prices.
              sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by BubbaBear View Post