alternator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• alternator

my buddy and i worked on my car a bit this a.m. and it starts and runs with a battery in it, but we figured out that the alternator is shot.
    i have the number that was written on it:
    1102778 5c 1

i've been looking online to get a replacement, but probably am typing in the wrong thing or something like that. how do i know how many amps i want and what i want?

other than that, she's purring like a kitten.

another thing...my uncle told me that it uses a 6volt battery, does it matter if we hook up a 12volt to it or not? i'm guessing it'll wear something out or overheat the alternator maybe, right?

(remember, i'm new to learning about cars! be patient with me and speak in very simple, explainable terms )

Lauren

Since you have a '55 Commander you most likely have a generator rather than an alternator (unless someone made that change before you bought the car). They both serve to generate electricity just work somewhat differently. Studebaker started using alternators in '63 and I believe most manufacturers changed about the same time. Anyway, your car came with a 6V positive ground system, again unless someone changed that (Studebaker switched over its complete lineup to 12V negative ground in '56 but some of the larger trucks made the jump in '55). Unless you switch your car over to 12V negative ground DO NOT hook up a 12V battery or you will fry a lot of things such as the lights, radio, etc. Probably picking up a good 6V battery would be the best solution until you decide if you want to make any changes.

6V alternators are available, but you probably can get a good used or even have your 6V generator fixed pretty easily as most auto electric repair places.

Dan White
    64 R1 GT
    64 R2 GT
    Dan White
    64 R1 GT
    64 R2 GT
    58 C Cab
    57 Broadmoor (Marvin)

Comment

quote:Originally posted by psycho_666