PDA

View Full Version : New to forum and have questions on old studebaker

EthanD
01-04-2012, 09:01 AM
Hi my name is Ethan and I ran across this forum the other night while searching for some answers about a old studebaker truck I have. I have been told its a 1946 but am not for sure, would also like to know what the value of it would be? How hard is it to get parts for? If its easy to get parts for, I might try to restore it. If its real hard to get parts for I would rather have it go to someone that know where to get every thing, I just hate seeing it sit and rot. I think its a real cool looking truck, I just wish I knew more about it, if anyone could help me it would be much appriciated! Thank you

Jeff_H
01-04-2012, 09:08 AM
It looks like a M-5 (1/2 ton). That style was made in '41-'42 and then after the war from '45-'48. I am not a truck expert but believe the serial number plate is on the windshield post on the driver side. So, if you can get the door open it would be visible. If not there, probably on the vertical step area below the seat and still visible with the door open.

With the S/N, others can advise to what year. I seem to recall that chrome front bumper may indicate pre-war, but not sure. Looks like its been sitting there for quite a while so the hinges and latch may be stuck so care must be taken.

You may also want to take a look here at the Stude truck forum:

http://www.network54.com/Forum/23885/

FlatheadGeo
01-04-2012, 09:12 AM
Welcome to the Forum and the world of Studebakers. You should join the Studebaker Drivers Club and get a Studebaker International Catalog of parts. You will get excellent assistance from members and the catalog is worth its weight in gold!!! Hope you decide to keep and restore it. Good luck.

jclary
01-04-2012, 09:36 AM