No announcement yet.

1957 commander T-handles on dash what are their functions? I am a newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Other: 1957 commander T-handles on dash what are their functions? I am a newbie

I am restoring a 1957 commander I know these cars are weird I have several knobs and stuff on my dash they are all unlabeled so????? does anyone know where I can see a diagram or anything? thanks

Not weird, perhaps a little different by design. A T handle to the left of the steering column may well be for overdrive. Do you know what transmission you have? Reprinted owner's manuals are available and should explain the functions. I expect someone familiar with '57s can tell you what you want to know.
    Don Wilson, Centralia, WA

40 Champion 4 door*
    50 Champion 2 door*
    53 Commander K Auto*
    53 Commander K overdrive*
    55 President Speedster
    62 GT 4Speed*
    63 Avanti R1*
    64 Champ 1/2 ton

* Formerly owned

Comment

Are you speaking of ON the dash, or UNDER the dash?
      The right air air vent for fresh cool air or Heat is controlled by a black round plastic knob under the dash below the Radio Speaker Panel, maybe it had it's knob changed to a T.

Under the dash to the left of the wheel would be as Don told you, on a manual trans. car with Overdrive, the Chrome "T" handle that would ingage O.D. when pushed IN before driving. It would be easy enough to figure out though, because it is marked "O.D.".

The slide levers that go left and right are marked "Wiper" and "Heat" (Temp. setting) for the Climitizer heating and defrosting system.

After 54 years it is very possible that some things on your car are no longer stock (original). Many things on Studebakers are so easy to change from one year's type and style to another, that many people over the years could not resist doing just that for different reasons, sometimes just because they were available from another car.