1951 Commander Cranks, but won't start

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: 1951 Commander Cranks, but won't start

Hi there, I am new to the Studebaker Community, and Studebaker's in general. It has always been a dream of mine to have a 50 or 51 Stude that I can drive around just as though it was fresh off the line, and that dream has recently come true... for the most part.

While it is true that I always wanted to own one, I also wanted to drive it as well. Therein lies my problem. The car is all original, which means it is all 60 years old (except for a few rewiring things and brakes that the guy I purchased it from did). When I turn the key and hit the start button the engine will turn and turn and turn, but not start. It nearly starts the first time after sitting for a little while, but quickly dies. So here are the issues I am seeing mechanically so far (and a couple others that I hope to get some information on).

1. I have noticed that the reservoir on the fuel pump has not gone down, and considering that the fuel line is not currently connected to it I would think that should be going down.

2. However, I also figured that when shooting starting fluid into the carb the car should fire, but even that is doing nothing. All the spark plugs are new and the point is clean.

3 (other issue). I am reluctant to hook up all of the fuel lines to the engine as I do not know if the fuel tank is clean inside or not. Any ideas how I would be able to check that out/fix it?

4 (other). When I went to pick up the car the fuel tank got dented (leading to more concern about putting fuel in as sediment may have been knocked free. Any remedies for getting a dent out of a tank like that?