how do I fix rust?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how do I fix rust?

if you ever seen a lark,some have the rust threw the lower part of the fenders behind the wheel.how hard is it to cut and patch such a problem? I am a certified welder so "buzzing" the piece will not be that hard to do at all.but the mud/bondo/fill I am not to good at.

There are patch panels available from Classic Enterprises and other Studebaker vendors. Easiest solution is to cut out the rusted area completely, trim the patch panel to fit and weld it in place, grind the welds smooth then prime and finish. When welding do your best not to let one area get too hot as you can warp the metal.

Pat
    Pat Dilling
    Olivehurst, CA
    Custom '53 Starlight aka STU COOL

LS1 Engine Swap Journal: http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/jour...ournalid=33611

Comment

Check out this site and others on the SDC tech tips page. www.raylinrestoration.com has a good tech on repairing fender rust.
      "In the heart of Arkansas."
      Searcy, Arkansas
      1952 Commander 2 door. Really fine 259.
      1952 2R pickup

Comment