185 Crank availability?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 185 Crank availability?

I've recently obtained a 170 OHV engine that I plan to eventually rebuild and put in my 62 wagon. I've read several threads about replacing the 170 OHV crank with a 1955-1958 185 crank, and I am interested in possibly doing such a swap when I rebuild. Some of the threads I've read seem to indicate that the 185 cranks are difficult to come by. I am pretty new to the world of Studebakers and I don't have any idea whether the 185 crank is a common, readily available part or something that will be tough to find and prohibitively expensive for my budget. If this swap is something that I'm seriously going to consider, I'd like to get a feel for whether there are 185 cranks out there for sale, and if so, a ball park idea of how much I'd have to spend for one? Thanks in advance for your input.

Chad

They are very rare. So happens that I have one. PM me

Comment

Chad,

They are NOT rare. They are inside every Champion six cylinder built from 1955 thru 1958, plus in service replacement engines. It would be easier probably to find a complete 185 engine.

Put some feelers out in your local club, on this forum as you have done, and check the Studebaker Swap Page (http://www.studebakerswap.com/swap/swap.php) also.
      Paul
      Winston-Salem, NC
      Visit The Studebaker Skytop Registry website at: www.studebakerskytop.com
      Check out my YouTube channel here: https://www.youtube.com/user/r1lark

Comment

You may need to notch the bottom of the cylinders about 0.25" and change pistons.
        Greg
        http://salt2salt.com racing a 53' Stude on the salt.
        http://tribaker.wordpress.com building a 37' Stude boat-tailed speedster 3-wheeler
        http://turbostude.com building a 50' bullet-nose with a turbocharged stude flathead six (site under reconstruction)
        sigpic

Comment