1955 president coupe. throttle rod issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1955 president coupe. throttle rod issues

I am trying to get this car right. Someone had put a dodge engine in it and Iw went back to a 63 Lark V8. I have two issues I am tryint to solve. One: I am currently using a bowed rod connecting the gas pedal to the bell crank. The geometry is off. Which rod should I use? Second: the transmission crossmember was missing and I was able to secure a replacement thanks to a true gentleman, Dick Steincamp. Someone placed the emergency brake stop right under the gas pedal. Bad move. Where does it go? Where do you find plugs forthe floorboard. No rust, just one missing.
    My thanks to all and I am serious about getting the car working well.
    Thanks,
    John

Hello I'm no expert but two 55 I have had springs no rod just springs. Maybe someone with more knowlege can respond. One was a standard one auto.

Comment

Carb. Linkage

You may need the correct Bellcrank; the 2 brl. uses the first hole in the type with two for the Bellcrank to Carb. Rod, and the 4 Brl. uses the one on the end of the lever (the forward one).

The spring loaded Carb. Rod gets a 45 Degree bent forward Rod End for 2 Brl. and straight front Rod End for 4 Brl.

There are Two Return Springs, the forward one is hooked into a "L" Clip Bracket on the water outlet (2 Brl.) and on the Intake Manifold forward Bolt (4 Brl.).

The rear one goes from the Bellcrank to the Valve Cover.

All of the Parts are clearly shown in the Studebaker Chassis Parts Catalog available from Studebaker Vendors at: studebakervendors.com
      in Book or CD form.

Since you have a '63 Lark Engine I am describing it's setup, '55's are different, using a spring instead of the spring loaded Rod.
      Last edited by StudeRich; 07-04-2011, 09:56 PM.
      StudeRich
      Second Generation Stude Driver,
      Proud '54 Starliner Owner
      SDC Member Since 1967

Comment