Tire clearance on 61 Hawk

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tire clearance on 61 Hawk

I installed the differential back into the car last night and mounted the wheels I had picked up at the local junk yard to make sure I didn't get any fender rub. The wheels are from a 87 Mercury Grand Marquis (hope I spelled that right).

No rub front or rear but while checking I discovered that I had about 1/2" more clearance on the drivers side rear than I had on the passenger side rear. I am thinking the body is probably not sitting on the frame right. Looks to be shifted to one side by about 1/4 inch. If that is not the problem, then I assume something is bent.

Anybody run into this before? Any suggestion on where to start looking?

The body of this car still has to come off the frame for restoration and if it is just an alignment issue I can take care of it when the body goes back on the frame. This is my first time doing this and I don't know if the body mounting holes would allow for a 1/4" misalignment.

Thanks
    Wayne
    Wayne
    "Trying to shed my CASO ways"

sigpic

Don't panic, I have seen this on numerous cars 1/2" is nothing.

Comment

Mine is the opposite. Tight on the driver's side.

Comment

Most seem to be closest on the Right, but none are centered.
        It could have something to do with the varied HEIGHT of the rear spring mountings, left to right.
        StudeRich
        Second Generation Stude Driver,
        Proud '54 Starliner Owner
        SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

It could be simply the fender stamping. I actually took my rear fenders off and put a
          block under the wheel opening and a friend and I stood on either end giving it a slight
          bow, this gained about a 1/2. It wasnt even noticeable, but not recommended on a
          show car!

Tom