No announcement yet.

Fiberglass Grill Surrounds?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Body / Glass: Fiberglass Grill Surrounds?

I'm cobbling together pieces for my 53 coupe front end (custom).
    I'm curious if anyone has used the fiberglass kit with the 2 grill surrounds and cross bar.
    Do they fit the same as the original, or are they tweaked to fit better?
    I'll be painting them, but do they look like the real deal?

What fibreglass kit?

Comment

Are you talking about fiberglass components like these sold by

Comment

I suspect Don is thinking of "Slick Street Stuff" run by Rene and Bonita Harger. www.slickstreetstuff.com. I have no personal experience with them, but I understand they have an excellent reputation.
        Howard - Los Angeles chapter SDC
        '53 Commander Starliner (Finally running and driving, but still in process)
        '56 Golden Hawk (3 speed/overdrive, Power steering - Running, but not yet driving)
        '58 Packard Hawk. A partially restored car that was not completely assembled.

Comment

Yes, I'm referring to the glass shop http://www.the-glas-shop.com/ck.htm. I spoke with them yesterday. Their unit is made from a mold of an actual Stude front end. They assured me it would fit as poorly as the originals. (lol) . Being fiberglass it is a bit more flexible, which would help some.
          I forgot to ask about the latch area. [I wouldn't want to replace that steel crossmember/striker plate with fiberglass. ] It would be very helpful if someone with hands on experience would jump in. Can't figure out how to rename this thread "fiberglass grill surrounds?" , that might get the response we need.

On a more personal note; I have a pair of unbroken surrounds, but I think they are "warped" a bit. I'm also missing the crossbar that goes below the surrounds, so i can't fit them to be sure. Anyone have that piece available?