Collapse
No announcement yet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hey everybody I figure I'd introduce myself. My name's Rich and I'm new to the SDC. I actually bought my 1953 Commander Hardtop in 1985 and it has sat inside since last year when I decided that it was finally time to restore it. It's in great shape but was fitted with a '56 289 engine back in the 50's so I do not have the original motor. Everything else is original however as far as I've been able to tell. There was a Studebaker Dealership near my hometown in New Jersey and my dad was friends with the family. When the property was sold in 1985 the family contacted my dad and asked if he wanted to buy the car, it was still sitting in the showroom. My dad remembers the car when it was new so we jumped at the chance to buy it. It was a model the dealer used to display all the accessories so this one is loaded fully with every add on. As far as I know the car was never officially sold and the car remained at the dealership until I got it. It was driven and used hard as a hot rod back in the day but except for the engine it is a great example of classic '53. I have some questions and am excited to post some up in later threads. I'll try to get some pics up too.

Welcome to the Club! There are lots of answers to all your questions on this forum. We like pictures!
    1964 GT Hawk
    PSMCDR 2014
    Best time: 14.473 sec. 96.57 MPH quarter mile
    PSMCDR 2013
    Best time: 14.654 sec. 94.53 MPH quarter

Victoria, Canada

Comment

Welcome to the forum and looking forward to the pictures.
      "Growing old is mandatory, but growing up is optional." author unknown

Comment