PDA

View Full Version : "R" series engines?

jtjim
09-06-2010, 08:44 AM
In discussing a local guy who once owned a very fast Lark Daytona with what I believe was an R-4 engine, it was recalled that while he was in the service someone "sugared" his gas tank and the engine was ruined. He supposedly was able to buy a new complete engine through the local Studebaker dealer. This engine was supposed to be one of 10 that were built by Granitelli---347 cu in, dual carbs and dual superchargers, and tubular headers! It was reported to be called an "R-7" or "R-8" I believe that this has become an urban legend around here. I recall that his origional Daytona was very fast. I have no knowledge of later engines or mods. However, I have been dealing with Studebakers for a long time and have never heard of a 347 cu in engine. I think Granatelli used a highly modified engine at Bonneville with dual Paxtons. Has anyone ever heard of an engine available through a dealer larger that 304 cu in? Was any engine available through a dealer with 2 Paxtons? I would like to be able to either verify or debunk this legend.

monomaniac
09-06-2010, 08:47 AM
I don't believe the first car was an R4 and the rest of the story is total fairy tale.

jclary
09-06-2010, 09:14 AM
I don't believe the first car was an R4 and the rest of the story is total fairy tale.
Yeah...even a lying fairy probably wouldn't waste his time spinning a yarn like that!

BobPalma
09-06-2010, 09:22 AM