This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motoring again after 25 years…well, almost

I never worked on a Stude transmission before,but i dont think the teeth from the starter can get in transmission.Someone correct me if im wrong.

David Baggett Mantachie,Ms.

Comment

Congrads on the 55 Sedan, welcome to the club!

Let me see if I can answer some of your questions. I highly dought starting the car with 12 volts would have broken the starter gear like that, most likely it was just a 50 year old starter that kicked the bucket. When doing a 6 to 12 volt conversion, common practice was to keep the 6 volt starter, the starter only runs for about a sec or two so no real damage can be done unless you abuse the starter.

About the trans, I'm not an expert on auto's and I won't pretend to be one, but from what I heard its best to keep the car in Drive all the time and let the trans shift on its own. I do believe that is the Packard auto? Its engineered very nicely and should give you good service, but it could still need some adjustment to shift correctly. I have heard about bad mounts causing the trans not to shift into R right. When you say pull the pan and pick the starter teeth out, I assume you mean the converter pan cover? BTW, its probably a good idea to do a fluid change on the engine & trans.

Good luck!

1955 President

Job: Student @ Penn State
      Love of Studebakers?: High

Comment

I think the transmission should be a DG250 - the top of the line transmission for that year and one with first gear start. Be grateful you don't have the Packard transmission!

Comment

Thanks guys for the reply. To 55pres - I'm just guessing there's pieces in there. When I pulled the started I only got about 1/3 of the gear and I'm just assuming that it fell past the flywheel into "that pan". I can't figure where else they could have gone. [B)]

Tom_CentralValley
          Three Rivers, CA
          1955 Commander 4 dr
          Tom