Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

As a new member, this website certainly looks interesting and helpful. I have just purchased a 1948 Champion 4-door with the suicide doors. My father-in-law received the car from his neighbors. they had purchased the car new and then gave it to him when they could drive no more. He has not done anything with it and so it has sat for the last 10 years or so. It has the 1948 Illinois license plate issued to that car. When those plates were issued they warned the owners not to park the car where goats could get at it because they would eat the license plate. It was made from soybeans. This is my first attempt at restoration and I plan to restore it to an "as it was" condition with a little luck and a lot of patience. I will be looking to this site for help.thanks for the opportunity.

Welcome aboard! Might I suggest you sign up with SDC (elsewhere on this site) and enjoy the benefits of club membership.

First step ought to be to buy the pertinent Shop Manual and the two parts manuals that cover your model of Stude - the Chassis Part Book and the Body Parts Book. Owners manual would be nice from the standpoint of how to operate the car and it's various systems, but it doesn't help much with restoring it.

Miscreant at large.

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
    1960 Larkvertible V8
    1958 Provincial wagon
    1953 Commander coupe
    1957 President 2-dr
    1955 President State
    1951 Champion Biz cpe
    1963 Daytona project FS
    No deceptive flags to prove I'm patriotic - no biblical BS to impress - just ME and Studebakers - as it should be.

Comment