This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Former Studebaker - A Horror Story

Imagine my surprise coming home from the grocery store yesterday when I spied my old 1965 Commander 4-door parked along a narrow street not far from my home. I sold this car in 2003 as part of downsizing from 7 Studebakers to one when I had to abandon rented storage due to a leaky roof and a balky landlord. Anyhow, the 1965 was plain, but very clean and a good-looking car for what it was...a bare-bones, 3-on-the-tree 6. I sold it mainly because I live in the Rust Belt and although I really wanted to use it as a daily driver, I would have hated to see it disintegrate into rust. I sold it to an ex military guy who wanted a fun car to drive on sunny days. He lived about 30 miles away.

Fast forward three years. I spot the car and slowly drive by. The driver's side of the car is visible from the street. Dirty, oily, a couple more scratches, the inside from what I can see is a mess. I feel sort of bad but think hey, whoever owns it now is entitled to use the car as he/she sees fit. I slowly drive by then decide to go around the block for another look. As I round the corner I spy the passenger side of the car and my heart broke. The car has been hit hard on the passenger side. The front door and front fender are badly damaged and by the overall look of the car aren't going to be fixed. I drive slowly home, vowing not to go down that street again.

Sometimes it's best not to know what happens to old friends. Had I known its eventual fate, I would have kept that nice old Studebaker.

Studedude1961
    --1963 Cruiser

Once tried to buy a very rare R2 4 speed Cruiser from a ex Studebaker dealer, but he was saving it for his grandsons 16th birthday present. I did end up with parts from the car when the kid drove into a tree a few months after he got it. Sorry to see your old car suffered a wreck too.

Studebaker On The Net http://stude.com
    Studebaker News Group