X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 57 President 4dr !Help!

Hello all:

I'm new to the Stude Family, Just bought as 57 President 4dr. I own four other antique cars but this is my first Stude. Here's the story. I found a 57 President 4dr just parked next to the hwy in the town i live in Texas, started asking around and found the owner, asked if it was for sale and got the old " i don't know, the car used to be my father in law's and i don't know if my wife wants to part with it" answer. Long story short, 4 months later i bought the car. He started asking $1,800 but my haggling skills got him down to $600 and on the trailer it went. Heres what i got. The car looks 100% original, 289 V8, Automatic, Power Steering, solid body, light surface rust on the hood, all chrome is intact, all badges and ornaments are there and fine, small dent on the rear right tail light area, dull paint, some crappy body work where the rear right door meets the wheel opening, some bondo chipping off(about a 12x12 area), rest of the car is straight as an arrow. Brakes don't work, car had been sitting in a barn from 1980 to 2005, last registered in 1980. Interior needs redone, it's all there but the headliner is staring to sag, seats could use recovering. Surface rust on the floorboards, not thru. Dash and gauges look awesome, really clean. All four hubcaps and rims there and OK. No keys. Now the questions. I know my description is not as good as pictures, but...

1. Did i pay a fair price? Too much? A steal? How much is it worth more/less?
    2. How is the parts availability to just get the basic tune up stuff to get it running? Is it expensive? I'm used to 50's Chevys, i guess in comparison it will be.
    3. I know it would be a crime to the purist Stude Fans, but will switching to a Chevy 350 And Turbo 350 tranny and rewiring kill the value of the car.
    4. Is this a rare car? Collectable? Sought after?
    5. How to tell if it's a President Classic or not?