This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bottle in engine compartment?

hey guys, i am new to owning a stude, but i love my car already. i have a 64 lark 4dr, it has a 289, and i am wondering what is the triangular glass bottle for in the engine compartment? it is mounted on the left front inner fender, it is held in by two clips. the bottle has about a twelve ounce volume. thanks, benny.

It's for storage of extra windshield washer fluid. Many cars of the 60s had this same bottle.[]

Comment

It's nitrous [8D]

ha ha kidding, I do believe a lot of guys use these for windshield washer fluid rather then put in the washer fluid bag that was originally there on several old vehicles.

Comment

there is no reservoir in there, no hoses or washers, why would it be there unless it is just to pull out and dump on the windshield

bdm

Comment

Is there a cap on that bottle? Are there WS washer jets on the hood or cowl?[?]

Miscreant at large.
          No deceptive flags to prove I'm patriotic - no biblical BS to impress - just ME and Studebakers - as it should be.

Comment

quote:Originally posted by benny_64

there is no reservoir in there, no hoses or washers, why would it be there unless it is just to pull out and dump on the windshield

bdm
            ha ha - yep that's the way it was done back then [] hmm, I suspect maybe the previous owner was in the process of running the plumbing maybe ? Most of us only drive our cars on nice days so during restoration, something like the windshield washer operation tends to get de-prioritized. I know with my '51 I don't have anything hooked up, hell the vacuum wipers don't even work very well.

Comment