Clear All

• BEST PRIMER FOR PRICE

WHAT IS THE BEST PRIMER FOR THE PRICE?
    Kevin Phillips
    Jacksonville,AR

53 commander

quote:Originally posted by kpcoupe

WHAT IS THE BEST PRIMER FOR THE PRICE?
    I'm far from an expert, but I'll tell you what I know from my (very) limited experience.

We used PPG K36 on my Hawk (now in progress with the paint job). It was $150 a gallon plus another $60 for the required catalyst. PPG makes an Omni product that is less expensive, but it doesn't fill or sand as good as the K36.

I know there are inexpensive paint jobs (right down to the short nap roller method described here recently), but if you are putting a lot of time and/or money into the body work and paint prep, AND painting with a quality paint, saving a few bucks on the primer is probably not the way to go.

I'll have over 300 hours into the repaint of this Hawk...200 hours my (free ) labor, and 100 hours of pro. The paint is $320 a gallon, the clear is $150 a gallon plus $15 for the clear reducer and $30 for the clear catalyst. You'll need to shoot some sealer before the primer and after blocking the primer before the base coat. That's about $150 a gallon and the same for the required hardner. Just for paint products, that is about $1000, not counting the sandpaper, tape, solvent, other reducers, DX330, and the other odds and ends you will need.

For me, saving a few bucks on the primer would not be a good decision.

Dick Steinkamp
    Bellingham, WA

Comment

quote:Originally posted by Dick Steinkamp...You'll need to shoot some sealer before the primer and after blocking the primer before the base coat...