Timing Gears

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Timing Gears

Ok Gentlemen, I am sure that someone will know this. I just can not find a way to make it work. I am rebuilding a 60 model 289, finished the heads, bottom end and was working my way around to the timing set and this left me with a couple problems/questions..
    1.What is the best way to get both the timing gears back on.
    The shop manual talks about a special installer tool that I wish I had.
    2. Do both gears go on at once?
    I am getting the engine hub installer and a dial kit, to set the crank shaft end play, from a vendor up in York at the meet.
    3. Who is a good source to get thrust washers from?
    My original crank was replaced by a NOS unit so I know the end play will need some work.
    I know this may be engine 101 for some but it is my first time deep inside the workings of the Stude motor. Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Rodney Tucker
    60 Black Hawk
    On the road Again

The steel crank gear goes on first. It'll be part of the setting of end play. Good luck on shims. They're not easy to find in the smaller sizes! Don't know WHY some vendor hasn't had some cut yet![8]

Once the crank's setup and it's gear in in place, you install the cam and then it's gear. With no load on the cam (valve springs), it'll turn as the gear's installed. You'll see!

Miscreant adrift in
    the BerStuda Triangle

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
    1960 Larkvertible V8
    1958 Provincial wagon
    1953 Commander coupe

No deceptive flags to prove I'm patriotic - no biblical BS to impress - just ME and Studebakers - as it should be.

Comment

OK this post has been read 58 times and Mr. Biggs is the only one to post a reply. Please tell me I have not stumped the wise one's.

p.s. Thanks Mr. Biggs.

Rodney Tucker
      60 Black Hawk
      On the road Again

Comment