'Reconditioned' license plate in Oregon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 'Reconditioned' license plate in Oregon

I came across some reconditioned 1948 oregon state license plates that I wanted to use on my '48 Land cruiser. Wandered into the local DMV and was told in no uncertian terms that if I used those plates I could "only drive your car in parades"! Well, I'm a daily driver type and felt this was too restrictive. Also ran into same issue with my newly purchased '29 Dictator that had oregon state 'Historic' plates...same answer about having to run "new" plates if wanting to drive other than in parades.

Any one else run into this?

1952 Champion
    1948 Land Cruiser
    1929 GE Dictator
    1938 Commander (great-grandfathers)
    1948 Commander (great-grandmothers)

Well, in Washington its the same thing. Got collector plates on your car, can't drive it. Me and my dad got them on our studes, and probley going to have them on his '64 barracuda. What do we do? Drive them anyways,LOL! Never had a problem, even when they are pressed into daily service. I suppose if you got pulled over for bad driving, or whatever, they can and probley will ding you for it. But, thats our experiance, don't know what it is like down there. Good luck!

Dylan Wills

'61 lark deluxe 4 door wagon
    Dylan Wills
    Everett, Wa.

1961 Lark 4 door wagon
    1961 Lark 4 door wagon #2 (Wife's car!)
    1955 VW Beetle (Went to the dark side)
    1914 Ford Model T

Comment

You can drive them to Club events, car shows, Parades, to a Repair Shop, or for a tune & test run.

Be creative, have an estimate for an exhaust system in the car, and be going to the Muffler shop for repair.

StudeRich
      StudeRich
      Second Generation Stude Driver,
      Proud '54 Starliner Owner
      SDC Member Since 1967

Comment