Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Transporting with stuck wheels - Advice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transporting with stuck wheels - Advice?

Hello! I'm new to the Studebaker Drivers Club. I have a 1954 Studebaker Commander that is going to need some considerable work. My first order of business is to get the vehicle out of the elements so the rust damage doesn't continue. I will likely need to tow the vehicle. This wouldn't be an issue except that a few of the wheels do not rotate (in neutral). I believe this is due to rust and corrosion. My question is: Will I damage the vehicle by dragging it onto a wrecker? I don't want to hurt the transmission or the wheels themselves. Please let me know if you have any advice.

Thank you for your help!

Miles
    Miles Wellesley
    1954 Studebaker Commander
    Jacksonville, AL

Do we assume there are tires on the wheels? No tires, the wheels may be damgaged, but they are replaceable.

If there are tires, they may be damaged in dragging, but that old, they will need to be replaced anyway.

Non turning surely wont' hurt the transmission, but leave it in neutral to allow the other wheels to turn.

I dragged my '55 onto a rollback, no tires turning. had to drag it off, too, it wouldn't slide. No damage at all.

[img=left]http://www.alink.com/personal/tbredehoft/Avatar1.jpg[/img=left]
    Tom Bredehoft
    '53 Commander Coupe (since 1959)
    '55 President (6H Y6) State Sedan
    ....On the road, again....
    '05 Legacy Ltd Wagon
    All Indiana built cars

Comment

The wheels likely are not turning because the brake shoes are stuck to the brake drums because of rust. I wouldnt be afraid of sliding it onto a truck bed. I recently pulled a large truck a half mile without the front driver side wheel turning, and the flat tire stayed on and didnt even wear through.

Brent's rootbeer racer.
      MN iron ore...it does your body good.
      sigpic
      In the middle of MinneSTUDEa.

Comment