wiring harness

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wiring harness

Just wondering about are there any stories ,about you finally realized you needed a wiring harness to drive your car?

I knew I needed a wiring harness for our '54 Commander Starliner, Grace, the day we brought it home from Virginia. After driving if off the trailer and into the garage, I started checking to see what worked and what didn't. When I pressed on the horn ring, all I could hear -- from under the steering wheel center -- was a bunch of snap, crackle, and pop. Of course, seeing a bunch of bare wires under the hood and under the dash didn't fill me with confidence in the original wiring either.

Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
    Hummelstown, PA

I'm not a mechanic; I don't even play one on TV.
    Kindest regards,

Alan Mende
    Grantville, PA

I'm not a mechanic; I don't even play one on TV.

Comment

"If the wire insulation is hard and it cracks/breaks when you flex it, you might need a new wiring harness. If the wires have ever shorted out resulting in a fire,....you might need a new wiring harness. If current doesn't flow from point A to point B,....you might need a new wiring harness."

Brent's rootbeer racer.
      MN iron ore...it does your body good.
      sigpic
      In the middle of MinneSTUDEa.

Comment

How do I find one for a 57 Champion Sedan? Any suggestions?

Comment

Studebaker International has wiring harnesses for a 57 champion 6 cyl N.o.S I'm not sure about sedans. I would ask SI(studebaker international, Maybe a 58 champion will work.

Comment

My car the engine runs, headlights work,taillamps work, No blinkers, No fan , missing button for windshield motor, but no blades for wipers, I don't think thay work. My underdash has only 1 fuse ,but, reading the forum tech tips ,it says most have 2 fuses , one lower ,and one upper, go figure ?

Comment

Any Stories?, I have one,