The search is over

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The search is over

A while back I asked the forum where are the best spots to find an Avanti, preferably an SBC powered one as my background is heavy in them.

Initially, thanks to Jboyle on the forum. He convinced me to continue to try to join the AOAI after several attempts had failed. Turns out that they knew a lot less about me that I thought and the issue was with my Opera browser. That's where I found this little gem.

Judy and I took a trip to Vermont and pulled it home.

Two thoughts:

You meet the nicest people when you deal with Studebaker folks. Gordon and Jean are super people and during our discussions, I thought Gordon was trying to talk me out of the car as he described every imperfection no matter how minor. When I saw the car I was amazed at the nice condition it is in. It does have a 10 foot paint job someone put on quite a while back but it's going to be a driver and I can clean it up if I want.

Secondly, I don't want to start a discussion on dolly versus trailer but I borrowed my son's 8.1 liter gas engined GMC 2500HD crew cab and rented a U-Haul trailer at $55/day. I can't imagine a better way to tow a vehicle, 1700 miles in two days (round trip) setting in leather comfort with the cruise on at 68 mph motoring down the turnpikes. Didn't vary uphill or on flat land through VT, NY, PA, OH, MI. however the roads need a lot of work all over. One of the easiest trips we've made. Of course, I am now a member of the "Friends of OPEC."

Lastly, let me thank the forum members that gave me info on specific vehicles. I must admit that I looked at Joe M's with lust for several days. It's just what I was looking for but something kept gnawing at me . It took me a while to figure it out but suddenly I realized that I was looking at a fully finished vehicle and my finger prints were not anywhere. I realized I needed to find a nice example and build my own. More on this in the future.