63 champ carburetor issue???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 63 champ carburetor issue???

Any help would be greatly apprectiated. I have a 63 champ, in-line 6, which I posted pics of last week. It seems to me that my carburetor is going bad. I am no mechanic, but unless it is really warm outside, I can not start it without first spraying some starter fluid into the air filter on the carb. I also tried pumping the gas as well and that does nothing. However, it seems to be getting a little worse as now it has a little more trouble than usual staying started. Once warmed up she is fine. It is a Carter, and if helpful I can post the model number and other info off of it. Do I need a new carb? Can I just get a rebuild kit? If so where could I get one and how much might it cost. Thanks for all helpful Stude knowledge.

The carb is the last piece in the fuel delivery system You don't say how much work the mechanics of the truck got so...

Did the tank get cleaned? is there crud swirling around the intake?

Is there a filter and is it new?

Before worrying about the carb, be sure these questions are cleared.

Bebuild kits for almost all Studebaker carbs are available through our vendor system. Click here for a major list of vendors http://www.studebakervendors.com/

[img=left]http://www.alink.com/personal/tbredehoft/Avatar1.jpg[/img=left]
    Tom Bredehoft
    '53 Commander Coupe (since 1959)
    '55 President (6H Y6) State Sedan
    (Under Construction 617 hrs.)
    '05 Legacy Ltd Wagon
    All Indiana built cars

Comment

Jeremy; Carter made a lot of really Great Carbs. over many years, unfortunately this RBS Model with the round tin float bowl was NOT one of them!

These have always been Trouble with a Capitol T! [xx(]

Because of the reverse throttle pull, to put a better '62 Stude. Carter AS model on, you have to reverse the hole you use in the throttle bellcrank to reverse it from "Push" to "Pull" to use one. [:0]