PDA

View Full Version : 1955 Studebaker Truck with 6-cylinder

scarecrowtim
05-31-2009, 06:54 AM
Hi, I am new to the Studebaker.....well kind of. I presently have a 1958 Silver hawk that my father has owned since day one but I am looking at buying a 1955 Studebaker truck with a six cylinder and was wondering if any out there could tell me if it would be able to travel on a freeway at current speeds, say 70 to 75 mph? Asuming it was tuned up and running correctly. Thanks and have a great day,
Tim

kmul221
05-31-2009, 06:58 AM
If it doesn't have a overdrive transmissiom,probably not!

mbstude
05-31-2009, 07:02 AM
Welcome to the Forum.

Having driven a 6 cylinder pickup many miles, the short answer is "maybe". The thing is, these old trucks weren't designed to run 75 MPH.. While I have hit 75 a couple times in my '59 pickup, it was pretty scary! :) Even with overdrive, the engine was screaming and it was a bear to keep it on the road. They're much more comfortable at 50-55. You also have to remember that the suspension is VERY stiff, and you will do a lot of bouncing around. Also, the brakes were made for the dirt roads of 50 years ago..

If you want an Interstate cruiser, put a V8 in it, upgrade to disc brakes, and remove some of the leaf springs from the rear. Then you'll be getting close. ;)

Skip Lackie
05-31-2009, 07:34 AM
There were two 6-cylinder engines available in 1955. The smaller, 169 cubic inch engine usually came with very low (high numerical) rear axle ratio, like 4.55 or 4.89. As Matthew has noted, this greatly limits top speed. The bigger, 246 cubic inch engine was more often ordered with a 4.09 rear axle ratio, which allows a higher top speed. However, neither engine is an high-revver, and neither will attain freeway speeds without an overdrive transmission. I have a 54 with the big 6, OD trans, and a 4.09 axle. A comfortable top speed is about 60. Beyond that, I become uncomfortable with the screaming engine.