Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Painting Chrome ???

Question for the experts:
    What is the best process for prepping old pitted chrome for paint?
    I like the look plus cant afford to re plate mine there is just too much of it.
    Dean Pearson[B)]

You'll need to remove all the corrosion, which can be a chore, especially on zinc die castings. A dremel tool or similar can be used to clean out the pits. Then a good sanding - you don't need to remove all the plaing if it is not blistered or peeling, then some bondo to fill the pits, sand, primer and paint.

Comment

Power sand the entire surface to get it rough, dig the corrosion out of the pits, die grinder, dental drill, whatever. Paint with [I can't find the can] some spray stuff that bonds to chrome, prime, fill pits with body filler of some sort, sand, prime, repeat until glassy smooth, paint like anything else. But I'm no expert, wait till Ray reports in.

[img=left]http://www.alink.com/personal/tbredehoft/Avatar1.jpg[/img=left]
      Tom Bredehoft
      '53 Commander Coupe (since 1959)
      '55 President (6H Y6) State Sedan
      (Under Construction 608 hrs.)
      '05 Legacy Ltd Wagon
      All Indiana built cars

Comment

I read online where a 3 to 1 mix of muriatic acid would remove the chrome but leave the copper?
        Sounds like something I should test on a part I don't need!

Comment

The easiest way is going to the chromer and having the plating removed. This is the first step in replating.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
          Tom - Mulberry, FL

1964 Studebaker Daytona - 289 4V, 4-Speed (Cost To Date: $2125.60)

1964 Studebaker Commander 170-1V, 3-speed w/OD (Cost to Date: $623.67)

Tom - Bradenton, FL

1964 Studebaker Daytona - 289 4V, 4-Speed (Cost To Date: $2514.10)
          1964 Studebaker Commander - 170 1V, 3-Speed w/OD

Comment

quote:Originally posted by dean pearson