1964 Studebaker Daytona Wagonaire Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1964 Studebaker Daytona Wagonaire Advice

I am considering purchasing this car: http://www.goldenclassics.com/ - go to the "other" tab and scroll down a bit to see the silver Daytona.

Please help me before I do something stupid. I am a Studebaker novice and need some good advice. I have a refundable deposit of $10,500 on this car. Seller refuses to reduce the price. I had an independent inspector check it out, and he found a few minor items which need to be repaired. Seller agreed to do all repairs. Inspector said there was a ton of undercoat on the car, and Seller is going to remove the undercoat from the frame.

Seller says the car has 63,000 original miles. Assuming all repairs are done, is $10,500 a fair price? I love the Daytona - should I wait to see if I can find another for a better price?

What needs to be done to put the car into original aesthetic condition? Any clue on what that would cost?

Is it easy to find parts for this car and find decent mechanics who can work on them?

Please don't hold back any of your comments as I really do need some good advice here. Thanks in advance for your replies.

Mark, here is our post where we pretty much critiqued this car to death!

What bothers me about it other than the prices these "Classic Car Lot" guys try to get, is that it has that fresh non-original color paint job that you never know what it is hiding, bondo, rust what?

If it is as good as it looks, the price of $13,500.00 is in the ball park.

The little things like; wrong Wheel Covers from a '62 Hawk and the four instead of two bumper guards can be fixed easy enough I guess. It also has the wrong color carpet, probably close though, if it looks good with the Seats/Door Panels. I would leave it alone.
    The little incorrect items will not affect your fun with this car, because to enjoy it it does not need to be factory correct.