PDA

View Full Version : Back in the day...

JimmieD
11-05-2008, 09:30 AM
I recall a man with a sense of mechanical excellence along with a sense of humor. It was the mid-60's and there was some potent iron out on the streets as the hotrod craze flourished.

I'm not an expert but there were two years of Golden Hawk that were identical except for a minor tail light change, I believe 1956-1957, maybe '55-'56? The color was a golden brown with ivory white, maybe the standard Hawk color?

Frank had one of each, both in immaculate perfect original condition. Sort of. To all but the Stude afficianado they were identical and few people even knew he had 2, thinking they were always seeing the same car.

Friday nights in our hotrod town the guys from miles away would come to cruise the streets, show off their rides and look for some hot drag racing for extra cash. A road outside of town was marked off with a measured 1/4 mile and the lawmen allowed that place for impromptu competition, just keep it clean and safe, boys.

Frank would cruise the main and pull over behind 'out of towners' in his Hawk. Bragging and pride in the ride was the order and he'd join in with the kids. After a few he'd say something like, "Yeah, well that little '55 Chevy thing with the big 301 and Muncie is okay, but it's not exactly a real car...." and tempers flared. "Yeah, so whatta you got that's so hot, big man!?!!" Frank points to his Hawk.

Laughter and jeering, "THAT!? HAAAH haha!" Frank smiles and says, "A good Stude can blow the doors off that Chevy ****"

"Yeah?! So what's under the hood of your Stupidbaker Mr. Cool?" Frank ambles over and pops the hood to reveal the 259 2bbl V8. Laughter gets louder, and Frank says, "Well, $100 a gear says my Stude can eat your Chevy."

The race was on and everybody would meet out at the measured quarter. Frank fell behind, and dropped by his house, to switch nearly identical cars :~ )