PDA

View Full Version : Spell Check & Corrections



Retired
10-10-2008, 05:15 PM
A-Is there a spell check in the forum? If so where is it? B-How are corrections made to prior inputs?

Richard

41 Frank
10-10-2008, 05:22 PM
Click on the icon above your post with the little pencil and you will be able to edit your posts. I don't believe the Forum has spell check.

Frank van Doorn
1962 GT Hawk 4 speed
1963 Daytona Conv
1941 Champion R-2 Rod

Guido
10-10-2008, 05:30 PM
As Frank says, use the pencil icon to edit your post. [u]However</u>, it is helpful if you make a note afterwards as to the nature of your edit (i.e. - "edited for spelling").

If you are using Internet Explorer, you should have a spell check feature in your browser. If it looks like mine, there is an icon at the top of the page that says "ABC Check".

http://thumb14.webshots.net/t/63/663/9/36/86/2567936860097493054TXiheL_th.jpgGuido Salvage - "Where rust is beautiful" and real Studebaker horsepower lives

See pictures here: http://community.webshots.com/user/GuidoSalvage

Hiding and preserving Studebakers in Richmond, Goochland & Louisa, Va.

bams50
10-10-2008, 05:47 PM
quote:Originally posted by glen

grammer


[:I]:D

Robert (Bob) Andrews Owner- Studebakeracres- on the IoMT (Island of Misfit Toys!)
Parish, central NY 13131

"Some people live for the rules, I live for exceptions"- 311

"Do they all not, by mere virtue of having survived as relics of a bygone era, amass a level of respect perhaps not accorded to them when they were new?"

showbizkid
10-10-2008, 05:49 PM
Firefox browsers automatically underline misspelled words in red, a la MS Word. (Just something I've found helpful :))


[img=left]http://members.cox.net/clarknovak/lark.gif[/img=left]

Clark in San Diego
'63 F2/Lark Standard
http://studeblogger.blogspot.com
www.studebakersandiego.com

Guido
10-10-2008, 05:55 PM
quote:Originally posted by bams50


quote:Originally posted by glen

grammer
[:I]:D
And don't forget "alot". :D;)

http://thumb14.webshots.net/t/63/663/9/36/86/2567936860097493054TXiheL_th.jpgGuido Salvage - "Where rust is beautiful" and real Studebaker horsepower lives

See pictures here: http://community.webshots.com/user/GuidoSalvage

Hiding and preserving Studebakers in Richmond, Goochland & Louisa, Va.

rockne10
10-10-2008, 07:50 PM
quote: Firefox browsers automatically underline misspelled words in redI recently switched to Firefox and now have spell check on the Forum. In fact, it just told me "spell check" is two words, not one.

I've seen no spell check that recognizes Stude or Studebaker.[V] You've got to add it to its dictionary.

Brad Johnson
Pine Grove Mills, Pa.
http://s57.photobucket.com/albums/g233/rockne10/Rockne/th_Rocknegauges.jpg'33 Rockne 10, '51 Commander Starlight, '53 Commander Starlight

bams50
10-10-2008, 09:28 PM
quote:Originally posted by rockne10



I've seen no spell check that recognizes Stude or Studebaker.[V] You've got to add it to its dictionary.

Why?? Who doesn't know how to spell Studabacker??:D

Robert (Bob) Andrews Owner- Studebakeracres- on the IoMT (Island of Misfit Toys!)
Parish, central NY 13131

"Some people live for the rules, I live for exceptions"- 311

"Do they all not, by mere virtue of having survived as relics of a bygone era, amass a level of respect perhaps not accorded to them when they were new?"

bridgegaurd
10-10-2008, 09:44 PM
quote:Originally posted by Retired

A-Is there a spell check in the forum? If so where is it? B-How are corrections made to prior inputs?

Richard

I've found the best spell check on the forum is the readers. But seriously if you care ( i do not as many have noticed) and you don't have spell check. Pre-type your message in a word document. Then do the spell check before you copy and paste your message into the forum.

Me i step in mud puddles, walk in the rain, and step on the cracks in sidewalks. Freedom of the geezer set, no worries about it all.

Retired
10-11-2008, 05:16 PM
OK Lets Hit It: Thanks to all that responded. The red arrow (?) on the sheet of paper icon will let me correct the spelling/grammer but, unless I'm doing some thing wrong it just post the entire corected entry. Then two of the same postings appear, one w/error(s) one w/o. bridgegaurd, I can't miss using: words/spell check/cut and paste.

The FORMAT line for this posting don't have a Red check or arrow on a sheet of paper icon.

Thanks again.
Richard

Richard