No announcement yet.

6 volt batteries in series?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrical: 6 volt batteries in series?

I want to have a modern stereo in my car, but I would like to avoid the hassle and expense of converting the entire car over to 12 volt. There is plenty of room to set up another battery on the passenger side of the engine compartment. Could I just hook the batteries up in series to the stereo (to produce 12 volts) but have them hooked in parallel to the generator?
    I'm no electrical engineer, so I'm not sure about how this would be set up, but it seems doable in theory. Has anyone else done this or seen it done?

1950 Champion 4 Dr.
    Holdrege NE
    John
    1950 Champion
    W-3 4 Dr. Sedan
    Holdrege NE

If you want to have a modern sound system, I think you would be better off converting to 12V Negative ground, and be done with it. Your 6V car is positive ground. There are several guides around that describe how to do it, and you can run any modern electronics with it.

Comment

You cannot connect batteries both in series and in parallel at the same time. That's what's known as a short circuit. Much smoke and fancy footwork will ensue.

Either do as whacker suggests, or go with a voltage inverter that will accept a six volt positive ground input, and output 12 volts, either negative ground or floating ground. If the inverter incorporates a transformer, and is wired properly, the 6 volt side is isolated from the 12 volts side, and either leg of the 12 volt output could be grounded, as long as the "hot" terminal of the 12 volt side is not connected to the "hot" side of the car's six volt system.

Jeff Hopman (Jeff_H on this forum) has built an inverter for this purpose to use in his car, and electronics is his real-life job, so you know that it was built to last.

Try using the search function on this forum to search "inverter" posts authored by Jeff_H.

Gord Richmond, within Weasel range of the Alberta Badlands