Tootin' my own horn!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tootin' my own horn!

Well, I got the August TW today. In it is the feature article I did on horn buttons. I've been procrastinating about this project for what - Art - 3 years, 4 years??? I hope it's well received. Art & Ann deserve kudos for making what they have out of what I worked up.[^]

Of course, I saw what the article was gonna look like before it even went to print, but it's impact isn't full until you hold it in your hands. I'd like to think that it might inspire others to do such documentation regarding other facets of our Studes. Survivor examples aren't getting any more numerous, nor are we who lived when these cars were new and could offer some kind of testimony as to what they were EXACTLY like when they rolled off the assembly lines.
    The fact that there aren't such volumes to draw upon today is one reason we see so many cars/trucks OVER-restored. Without exacting standards to judge to, it becomes more of a beauty contest than a target of honest originallity. Of course, I suppose this sounds hollow coming from someone who's never endeavored to create a judge-worthy museum piece.
    Having done this little bit, and seeing as how I have a solid collection of postwar hub caps and wheelcovers, I'll probably have to do a piece on them too. We just need to have the editors pop a deadline on me to build a fire under my posterior![:0]

Miscreant Studebaker nut in California's central valley.

1957 Transtar 1/2ton
    1960 Larkvertible V8
    1958 Provincial wagon
    1953 Commander coupe
    1957 President two door

No deceptive flags to prove I'm patriotic - no biblical BS to impress - just ME and Studebakers - as it should be.

Now we should get you some of those twirly round watch display cases from the department store (remember those?[:0]) so you can put 'em all on display!
    (Always thinking....about what you never know)
    Jeff[8D]