1962 Hawk Rattles Abundant

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1962 Hawk Rattles Abundant

Do I have a lemon or were they notorious for rattles. It is a very disappointing car at present even though I have taken great pains to rebuild the car. It is not a frame-off but may have been for all I have done to it; sure does look pretty though. chet445

Hey!...welcome to the madness! Don't know your age, so I have no clue as to your experience level, perspective, or expectations. But, you have a 56-year-old vehicle. Unlike today's unibody robot welded assemblies, you have a machine that is a compilation of many assorted components. While some are welded and riveted pretty solid, many others are bolted and screwed together. Some components are even stapled. Through the years, things loosen, flex, deteriorate, crumble, and rust. Much of the components were supplied from manufacturers who figured out a way to offer the LOWEST BID to get the sale. Remember, there was almost NO 5-year 100,000-mile warranty on any vehicle back then. In fact, you were lucky to get a two-year financing deal (with substantial down payment/trade-in) and a guarantee that offered maybe 1200/2400 miles (or whichever came first.)