No announcement yet.

What type of engine do I have ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine: What type of engine do I have ?

I am new at this: I bought a 1963 Lark Daytona, 289, 4bbL, bucket sets, 4 speed. I got all the manuals but I am still not sure what engine I have: R-1 or R-2 or Thunderbolt ? Can some one help me, My engine code is P-95876. (The car is a one owner and all stock)
    Last edited by Beachamp1; 09-22-2018, 06:54 AM. Reason: Mistake

Welcome to the forum. Congratulations on such a nice, fast car.

R-1 is a performance engine with a 4 barrel, R-2 has a supercharger. I have no idea what a thunderbolt is. The shop manual should explain this. Hopefully you also have the chassis parts catalog and the body parts catalog. They show almost every part on the car, its correct name, and part number, and how the parts go together. The Studebaker vendors use these part numbers to give you the correct part.

Your car is a Daytona, not a Dayton.

For some reason, many new-to-Studebaker owners think that the car must be redesigned with parts from other brands to make it work better. Studebakers are well designed and if something does not work right, it merely needs to be repaired/re-bushed and not redesigned.
    Last edited by RadioRoy; 09-21-2018, 05:40 PM.
    RadioRoy, specializing in AM/FM conversions with auxiliary inputs for iPod/satellite/CD player. In the old car radio business since 1985.

10G-C1 - 51 Champion starlight coupe
    4H-K5 - 53 Commander starliner hardtop
    5H-D5 - 54 Commander Conestoga wagon

Comment

You have a 1963 Presisent (regular 289). Not a R1 or R2.

Comment

If I remember correctly, the name Thunderbolt was used for the 283's in 1965 and 1966. and not on any engine used prior to that. Bud

Comment

Welcome to the SDC and to the SDC Forum Bobby!

Per our V8 Engine Serial number breakdown Chart here: