Fenders and deck lid exchange 1950-1951 Coupe and 4 door

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Body / Glass: Fenders and deck lid exchange 1950-1951 Coupe and 4 door

Hello I am new to studebakers, I have a 1951 Champion Starlight coupe missing a deck lid and the right front fender. Can I use the deck lid and fender from a 4 door car? I have a chance to get a 1951 2 door business coupe and all the parts are there. Which car ( The starlite or the business Coupe)will be worth the most in 10 years?

Welcome to the SDC Forum and the wonderful world of Studebakers.
    I am not expert in these models, so someone else will correct me if I am incorrect.
    The sedan trunk will not fit the coupe. The front fender will.
    IMO, all other things being equal, the Starlight will be worth more than the three passenger coupe (business).
    Gary L.
    Wappinger, NY

SDC member since 1968
    Studebaker enthusiast much longer

Comment

I agree with Gary, but also think the Business Coupe is worth too much to become a parts car.
      Hopefully you can find the parts off another cheaper model, unless this one is pretty bad.

Comment

Originally posted by TWChamp View Post
        I agree with Gary, but also think the Business Coupe is worth too much to become a parts car.
        Hopefully you can find the parts off another cheaper model, unless this one is pretty bad.
        I read it that he will be getting the parts off a third vehicle, a four door sedan. I believe that he is trying to determine which car to redo - the five passenger coupe (Starlight) or the three passenger coupe (business).
        Gary L.
        Wappinger, NY

SDC member since 1968
        Studebaker enthusiast much longer

Comment

I see desirability as a tossup, but condition of the two should be the question. Both deserve salvage, but short term it should be the one most readily serviceable/restorable.

Comment