More on our Drone ship

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• More on our Drone ship

I found this interesting especially the reaction of China.
    Murray

Chinese strategists are studying the implications of the U.S. Navy’s new sub-hunting unmanned surface vessel.
    Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain !

http://sites.google.com/site/intrigu...tivehistories/

(/url) https://goo.gl/photos/ABBDQLgZk9DyJGgr5

Interesting post and probably the wave of the future. I'm not sure what the military masterminds have in mind for it but if it's only defense is 31 mph, about 80% of the pleasure craft and 60% of the commercial traffic on the Great Lakes could run it down with ease. I know it will be ranging on the oceans but at that speed it's a setting duck for overtaking and boarding.

Bob

Comment

I have no personal knowledge of this particular ship, but I have worked with DARPA on some of their projects in the past and am somewhat familiar with their modus operandi. Basically, they only fund big-buck projects that have high risk, but offer potentially high payoff. No interest in incremental improvements or sure bets. This approach does produce some breakthrough technologies, but also suffers some big failures. Their final product is usually a single prototype that is turned over to the appropriate military service for further evaluation. The parts of it that work well are integrated into future war-fighting systems, and the parts that don't are placed in the lessons-learned bin.