1957 silver hawk value

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1957 silver hawk value

Hey everyone I’m new to Studebakers. Found one for sale and I fell in love with them. Can anyone tell me what I should pay for a 1957 Silver Hawk not running but ran when parked several years back. Has the 6 cyl with automatic trans. Straight body with no rust and floor pans not rusted. Does have some tail light issues and all the chrome has been painted same color as the car. Help me decide if I should buy it.

If you like a 1957 Silver Hawk, consider the one that the Studebaker National Museum currently has on eBay. It is a very nice car and an OHV V8 (a VERY big plus over the flathead six). IMO, that flathead six is inadequate for the weight and nature of a Hawk. You can spend a lot of money getting a car running, even if you do the work yourself.
    Gary L.
    Wappinger, NY

SDC member since 1968
    Studebaker enthusiast much longer

Comment

You can get an idea of value by looking at the completed and sold listings on Ebay.

Comment

Originally posted by 5brown1 View Post
        You can get an idea of value by looking at the completed and sold listings on Ebay.
        Most of the cars sold on Ebay are sold "sight unseen". Even when numerous pictures are included in the offering it's difficult to determine withing a couple of $1000 the real worth. A photo from 25 feet cannot show the orange peel in the $600 paint job or the glass-like finish on a $5000 paint job. I bought a cars some years back and really got burned "BIG TIME". Photoshop is a great computer program for covering rust and carefully planned photos can selectively avoid flaws. A $10,000 rip for the car and another $2500 for a worthless attorney is almost enough to make a person take a trip with his Louisville Slugger.

Comment