Axle broke

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rear Axle: Axle broke

I got my 1940 President out for a little exercise and the left axle broke. It broke about one foot from the splined end next to the differential gears. I don't know why it broke but I'm looking for advise on how to remove the short piece still inside. I don't want to tear apart more than needed nor do I want to waste time trying to do it in an impossible manner. This is my first time for any axle repair work. I will need an replacement axle for the left side if any one has one to sell.

Ken Robinson
    Indiana PA.

Odd place to break. Might try removing bearing and, assuming end is clean, put JB Weld on it and see if you can stick the ends back together . Leave it about 2 days and see if you can fish it out. A retieving magnet would just glom onto the tube. Good Luck!

Comment

How about a length of broomstick or a long dowel about the same diameter. Take some stainless lock wire (the stuff that you use to tie cross drilled bolt heads to keep them from loosening -- used a lot in aircraft, and in really old cars; here is a link from Harbor Freight: https://www.harborfreight.com/0041-i...coil-8895.html) and thread it thru a hole drilled crossways in the end of the broomstick. Make a loop in the lock wire that will easily go over the axle end. When you the loop over the axle end, start twisting the broomstick handle and the wire will tighten around the axle. Pull the broomstick handle and axle out.
      Paul
      Winston-Salem, NC
      Visit The Studebaker Skytop Registry website at: www.studebakerskytop.com

Comment

I would not worry about spending time to fish it out. Remove the backing plates and bearing retainers on both sides and 'bump' it from the other side. You will want to look at the other side anyway and likely check the axle bearings / end play and brakes anyway to be sure it does not happen again.

Comment