12 volt to 6 volt conversion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 12 volt to 6 volt conversion

MOV07812THM This is a short video of my 259 12 volt engine operating on 6 volts.

This is my first attempt at posting a video I will try again.

Comment

mov07812 Second try

Comment

They say THREE times is Charmed!
        You can revise or delete your Posts to add a new try however.
        StudeRich
        Second Generation Stude Driver,
        Proud '54 Starliner Owner
        SDC Member Since 1967

Comment

Easiest way to post videos for me is to upload it to youtube and use the link in "insert video" in the header above as you write your post.

Bob

Comment

I get that you are attempting to post a video, but I've never heard of either a 6 or 12 volt engine. A starter motor yes; but an engine does not care what voltage extraneous items use.

Comment

Perhaps I should have been more specific, I removed the 12 volt starter and replaced it with a 6 volt starter, I also removed the 12 volt alternator and replaced it with a 6 volt generator I hope this clears up any ambiguity.

Comment

I hope you changed the ring gear, too.

Comment

Originally posted by altair View Post
                  Perhaps I should have been more specific, I removed the 12 volt starter and replaced it with a 6 volt starter, I also removed the 12 volt alternator and replaced it with a 6 volt generator I hope this clears up any ambiguity.
                  Is it now positive or negative ground? Did you or did you not, also replace the 12 volt battery with a 6 volt one, and disconnect the ballast resistor from the ignition wiring? If you didn't replace all of the 12 volt accessories, wiring, bulbs, wiper, heater, defroster motors and any other 12 volt components? I don't expect they will function very adequately on 6 volts! And, anyway, which year and model Stude did you do this to? Ambiguities still abound!

Mark
                  Last edited by S2Deluxe; 03-05-2018, 04:51 PM.