Studebaker 14" rims versus 15" rims and hub caps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Studebaker 14" rims versus 15" rims and hub caps

So I have some 14" rims on my parts 1953 Studebaker that confuse me. Then I realized, maybe I don't know what Studebaker rims look like. I have 9 rims.

1) what make and year are these 14" blue ones?

2) is this 15" brown one even a Studebaker?

3) I am assuming and hoping this 15" white one with clips is 1953 year correct Studebaker (I have 5 of them)?

4) And finally I have 4 hub caps that I am not sure which rim they fit (not the 14). 3 are chrome and 1 is stainless steel (by left foot). And if they are to match a factory 1953 Studebaker 2 door Commander Hardtop, I assume they need an outer Chrome trim ring. Or are the correct hub caps completely different than what I have, like a 1 piece?

My end goal is like the black car.

Man I am a newbie! Thanks for the patience with my pathetic questions and for all the help!

To me the blue wheel looks like Ford, the brown Chrysler. The White wheel ,with hupcap clips, looks like '53 Stude and the dog dishes are '53 Stude. In my experiance the dog dish hub caps are much harder to find than the full wheel covers; like on the car you pictured that look like them.

I'm betting the hub caps are too small for the blue wheel and too big for the brown one?

Comment

The white wheel is 51-56 Studebaker, maybe even beyond that also. The hub caps are 53-55, both steel and stainless. Did Studebaker make them both ways, or did someone make them aftermarket?

The black car has 54-55 wheel covers on it.
      RadioRoy, specializing in AM/FM conversions with auxiliary inputs for iPod/satellite/CD player. In the old car radio business since 1985.

10G-C1 - 51 Champion starlight coupe
      4H-K5 - 53 Commander starliner hardtop
      5H-D5 - 54 Commander Conestoga wagon

Comment