Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie with a few questions

Hello,

I am a newbie...not to cars but to Studebakers. Can anyone explain how I can tell (or if i can) if the engine and trans are original on a 64 Daytona...also what the available rear ratios were and what the 4 speed trans ratios are. Also, is the trans on a 64 Synchronized or not?

Thanks you!

Welcome to the Studebaker world.

The production order will give the information on how the car was built. They can be obtained from the Studebaker National Museum.

The available rear axle options should be listed in the shop manual or the chassis parts manual. The shop manual, along with the chassis parts manual and body parts manual are musts for full enjoyment of your new Studebaker, IMO.
    RadioRoy, specializing in AM/FM conversions with auxiliary inputs for iPod/satellite/CD player. In the old car radio business since 1985.

10G-C1 - 51 Champion starlight coupe
    4H-K5 - 53 Commander starliner hardtop
    5H-D5 - 54 Commander Conestoga wagon

Comment

Welcome to the forum!
      You can get the original build sheet from the Studebaker National Museum which will have the engine number on it.

- - - Updated - - -

I see I was JUST a bit too slow!
      Chip
      '63 Cruiser
      '57 Packard wagon
      '61 Lark Regal 4 dr wagon
      '50 Commander 4 dr sedan

Comment

Welcome to the SDC and to SDC Forum Mark.

The 4 Speed is a very common Borg Warner T-10 as used in Corvette, 409 Chev. 426 Dodge Hemi, Pontiac 389 & 421, Ford 406, and it is Synchronized in 1st. 2, 3 and 4.

Most '64's have the (3.54) 2.54 Ratio Low gear, wide Ratio T-10, the 2.20 Low, Close Ratio was used mostly on 1961-1962 Models.
        A '64 also should have the Ford bolt pattern Case not the Chev. pattern that has the right hand lower bolt WAY out to the right.

The Standard/Optional Dana Spicer rear axle Ratios are 3.07, 3.31, 3.54, 3.73, 4.09. 4.27, and 4.56.