Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Ignition Switch 62 Hawk

  1. #1
    Champion Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    19

    Question Ignition Switch 62 Hawk

    On 1962 Hawk, original ignition switch has a round bullet-shaped cylinder about 1" long and 1/4" in diameter bolted to the switch and pointed towards the back of the dash. There is a ground wire attached to the mounting bold. The replacement switch obtained from Studebaker INternational has no mention of this additional part or instructions regarding it. What is this additional part? Is it necessary?
    Has anyone had any issues with the replacement ignition switch sold by SI? Thanks.

  2. #2
    President Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Omaha, Ne. summer- Sun City,Az. winter
    Posts
    3,962
    You may be looking at the light for the ignition switch the way you describe it.
    Frank van Doorn
    Omaha, Ne.
    1962 GT Hawk 289 4 speed
    1963 Daytona Conv. 259, Flightomatic
    1941 Champion streetrod, R-2 Powered, GM 200-4R trans.
    1952 V-8 232 Commander State "Starliner" hardtop OD

  3. #3
    Chief Cat Herder showbizkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA.
    Posts
    7,771
    Yep, that's the cylinder lamp. The bulb pushes into the cylinder from the rear and the little hole in the "bullet" end shines onto the plastic ignition bezel to make it light up.

    Clark in San Diego
    '63 Standard (F2) "Barney"
    http://studeblogger.blogspot.com

  4. #4
    Champion Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    19
    Wow, thanks, guys, I'll re-check, and have to make some other provision to mount it to the switch as none is provided on the replacement. Didn't look like a light to me but I'll take your word for it. Thanks again for the quick response.

  5. #5
    Speedster Member brian6373's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Citrus Heights, CA
    Posts
    392
    The bullet has a "pinch" clip that fits into slots on the original switch housing. The black wire is in the dash lighting circuit. ( EDIT) O.K. I got out a switch I had from a 63 Lark and I stand corrected. The housing portion has a little bracket that is attatched to the switch housing by a screw that also had a ground wire on it. The end of the "bullet" that has the wire is the bulb holder. If you look close you will see that there is a raised rib around the base. I sprayed some electrcal contact cleaner into the hole in the end and let it soak a bit, then carefully worked the pressed in holder out of the housing. DO NOT PULL ON THE WIRE!! It should slide out to expose the bulb for replacement. I don't know about the replcement switch that S.I sells, but is there a corresponding place on the new switch that you might be able to drill and tap a hole for the light atatchment?
    Last edited by brian6373; 10-01-2011 at 10:25 AM.

  6. #6
    Champion Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    19

    Intermittent starting

    I replaced the switch, still wouldn't start. Double-checked all the wiring per the manual, OK. If I hot-wire the solenoid it will start and run fine. I can shut if off and re-start from the switch, again OK. But if it sits a while it won't start unless I hot-wire it again. What could this be?

    Also, how do you replace the light on the ignition switch? How do you access the bulb?

    Thanks for the help!

  7. #7
    Golden Hawk Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ferndale, WA, USA.
    Posts
    20,079
    Doesn't it have a bracket held on with a small screw?

    The starting issue may be loose Battery Cables, heating up and expanding or bubbling up moisture between the post and cable. Also clean the inside of the cable clamp and the Batt. post. To test for that, you turn on the headlights when it will not start, and you should find them not working.
    StudeRich
    Second Generation Stude Driver
    Proud '54 Starliner Owner



  8. #8
    Champion Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    19

    Smile 62 Hawk

    Thanks for the tip, it may be the battery cable. Someone has disconnected the pink ignition wire, but a substitute wire runs to the coil, I haven't traced down the pink one all the way, though.

    Still don't know how to replace the bulb for the ignition switch light. It does screw into the side of the ignition switch, and a red (ground?) wire attaches at its base by the mounting screw.

  9. #9
    Golden Hawk Member JDP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Arnold, Md., USA.
    Posts
    13,158
    I assume you have a stick shift, if it's a AT it's likely the neutral start switch or the wire to the solenoid or the neutral start and not the ignition.
    JDP Maryland

  10. #10
    President Member bezhawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    here, sometimes somewhere else
    Posts
    4,069
    Also check the terminals on the ammeter...all the current goes through it first. (be careful, and disconnect the battery first)
    Bez Auto Alchemy
    573-318-8948
    http://bezautoalchemy.com


    "Don't believe every internet quote" Abe Lincoln

  11. #11
    Chief Cat Herder showbizkid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA.
    Posts
    7,771
    Uh, that pink wire is usually the resistance wire that provides power to the coil when the key is in "run" position. If that's disconnected, the car will fire, but die as soon as you let the key out of the "start" position.

    Clark in San Diego
    '63 Standard (F2) "Barney"
    http://studeblogger.blogspot.com

  12. #12
    Speedster Member brian6373's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Citrus Heights, CA
    Posts
    392
    Check the voltage from your battery to the body. I found the ground on my 63 Lark was cutting the voltage down to 8.5 volts. The relay may not be getting enough power through the switch and a poor ground to energize the relay coil. When you jump it, you eliminate all the resistance in the positive side of the wiring. Brian

  13. #13
    Champion Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Posts
    19

    Frayed Solenoid wires

    After replacing the ignition switch (which is much harder to install than the original twist-on one), I noticed that the wire going from the switch to the solenoid had broken insulation and some of the strands were frayed. I cut it off and installed a new loop-type lug, and haven't had a problem since! Thanks for all the tips, though!

  14. #14
    President Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Oregon City, CA
    Posts
    647
    Quote Originally Posted by swedenole View Post
    After replacing the ignition switch (which is much harder to install than the original twist-on one), I noticed that the wire going from the switch to the solenoid had broken insulation and some of the strands were frayed. I cut it off and installed a new loop-type lug, and haven't had a problem since! Thanks for all the tips, though!
    How did you get an Allen wrench on the replacement ignition switch setscrew to clock and lock the switch to the bezel?

  15. #15
    Golden Hawk Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ferndale, WA, USA.
    Posts
    20,079
    Tom did you maybe fail to notice that this is from 2011, I don't think he is here any more for whatever reason. Last Post 10/03/2012

    Anyway your post lacks enough detail to figure out why you asked. Is it something he did that would make it impossible to insert the Allen Wrench maybe?

    Or maybe just the design of those cheapie Switches that caused you a problem.
    The Newer, pricier versions are Dups of the Original with the stock twist on Bezel and not the old screw-on Chrysler one you have. It's a bugger to install but possible. Just not as good as the original design.
    Last edited by StudeRich; 04-22-2015 at 01:34 AM.
    StudeRich
    Second Generation Stude Driver
    Proud '54 Starliner Owner



  16. #16
    President Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Oregon City, CA
    Posts
    647
    Thanks for the reply. I did notice that the original post was quite old, but was on the right topic. I never did find a way to get an Allen Wrench into the set screw. Instead, I made a bracket that attaches to the dash to keep the ignition switch from turning. The replacement switch came with the car, so I thought I would use it. The original ignition switch was also included with the car and consisted of the bezel with broken tangs, the pot metal housing, and two separate plastic and metal components - not very useful. After installing the aftermarket ignition switch, I noticed that the center post - the one that energizes the starter relay - is loose. I hope that this is not a defect. I'm not at the point of starting the engine, so I will just do a continuity check on the "start" terminal.

  17. #17
    Golden Hawk Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ferndale, WA, USA.
    Posts
    20,079
    The Original Switch had a Translucent White Plastic Ring that Lights up through the small hole in the Bezel from the Light that attaches to the Switch, as in the other post yesterday. Of course it gets a Spring to keep it tight.

    The Fix for the poor quality Pot metal Bezel, is the New Aluminum one, pretty much a "Forever" piece.
    After you are done "Experimenting" with starting the Car, you can always do it right later with better Parts.
    StudeRich
    Second Generation Stude Driver
    Proud '54 Starliner Owner



  18. #18
    President Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Oregon City, CA
    Posts
    647
    OK, got an original-type ignition switch. Is there any secret to compressing the spring enough to get the new bezel on?

  19. #19
    Commander Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    54
    I just did the switch on my '61. Compressing the spring enough was very difficult, but after a number of tries, it worked. I moved a couple of wires and I think the speedometer cable around so I could get my hand in a spot for maximum leverage. Not much help I know, but just saying it can be done, and no particular special secrets, at least that I know of.

  20. #20
    President Member 62champ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    North Central Kentucky
    Posts
    1,897
    Think this might be what everyone is talking about -


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •