Wiring In My Electric Fuel Pump

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrical: Wiring In My Electric Fuel Pump

Tomorrow’s the day that I install my Holley Mighty Mite electric fuel pump on my ‘63 Hawk. I’m no electrical or wiring expert, but I’ve studied the wiring diagrams on Bob’s resource page thoroughly. I just wanted to check with those of you I would consider experts to verify that I understand what I’m doing.
    I’m using both an oil pressure switch and inertia switch as well as a Summit Racing fuel pump relay. The relay has a red (term 30), grey (term 85), purple (term 87) and yellow (term 86) wires. I’ve sketched the wiring diagram as I understand it. Is this correct?
    Attached Files

Do you really need both an oil pressure switch and an inertia switch? I don't think you do,but I'm no expert. I would wire the inertia switch with the pump ground wire going though the inertia switch.
    JB

Comment

I think this one would do the trick.
      Best of luck with your new setup.
      sigpic

Comment

Thanks for the reply Christophe. The oil pressure switch in your schematic is missing a terminal, there are 3. Also, I don’t see any wire going to the ignition switch. Is all this correct?

Comment

What type/brand inertia switch are you going to use?
          Mike Kelly
          Regional Manager
          Texas
          1963 Lark Cruiser
          1962 GT Hawk
          1965 Commander 2dr v8 auto

Comment

Originally posted by Mrkelly View Post
            What type/brand inertia switch are you going to use?
            Mustang.... they used to be pretty cheap on ebay, but today, the pick
            ings are slim
            64 GT Hawk (K7)
            1970 Avanti (R3)

Comment

I’m using one out of a 2001 Ford Explorer.

Comment

Coloradohawk;
                Either diagram will work
                On Christophe's diagram I would relocate the fuse so that all added wires are fused.