Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Oil Pressure Switch for Electric Fuel Pump

  1. #1
    Commander Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Posts
    92

    Oil Pressure Switch for Electric Fuel Pump

    I’m going to be installing an electric fuel pump on my ‘63 GT in the very near future. Would someone who’s done this post a photo of how you installed the oil pressure switch while still using the oil flex line for the gauge? Many of you are much better “engineers” than I am and I want it to be functional and still look professional and not just slapped together. Thanks!

  2. #2
    President Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Great Falls VA
    Posts
    3,256
    This is a link to a few notes on installing the Oil Pressure Switch
    http://www.studebaker-info.org/Tech/...OPSS/opss.html

    You can use port on the front of the drivers side head for the switch..
    64 GT Hawk (K7)
    1970 Avanti (R3)

  3. #3
    President Member BRUCESTUDE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Yakima, Wa, .
    Posts
    1,466
    I have a switch for an idiot light, not a flex hose, but here's my setup: (it's at the rear of the engine so it's not real noticeable)
    IMG_4320.JPGIMG_4319.JPG

  4. #4
    President Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Pasadena, Ca
    Posts
    834
    I used an inertia switch. It receives it's power through the ignition switch. The inertia switch in turn supplies power to the relay. The power supply for the pump motor comes off the ammeter.

  5. #5
    President Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Chatsworth, CA, USA.
    Posts
    1,356
    I did a friend's '52 Commander just like Bruce did. The "T" makes a nice, neat installation.
    Howard - Los Angeles chapter SDC
    '53 Commander Starliner (Finally running and driving, but still in process)
    '56 Golden Hawk (3 speed/overdrive - Running, but not yet driving)

  6. #6
    President Member tsenecal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Elko NV
    Posts
    510
    The inertia switch seems like a good alternative, because it would provide power to the fuel pump for the initial startup, (no oil pressure) but will kill the power in any kind of an impact, or rollover situation. With an oil pressure switch, the engine would have to crank long enough to make oil pressure, before the pump had power. Just my two pennies worth.

  7. #7
    President Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Chatsworth, CA, USA.
    Posts
    1,356
    I used a separate pushbutton (momentary contact) switch to run the pump before startup. Worked great.
    Howard - Los Angeles chapter SDC
    '53 Commander Starliner (Finally running and driving, but still in process)
    '56 Golden Hawk (3 speed/overdrive - Running, but not yet driving)

  8. #8
    President Member BRUCESTUDE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Yakima, Wa, .
    Posts
    1,466
    The oil pressure switch has a terminal that powers the pump when cranking regardless of oil pressure

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •