How to take out transmission

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transmission / Overdrive: How to take out transmission

So, i have a 61 Lark OHV l6 that has a toast clutch. Ive disconnected everything from the trans, OD cables, driveline, half the bell housing bolts, shifter linkage, etc. Does the engine need to be supported to take the trans out? It doesnt look like theres anything in the back holding it up other than the tranny crossmember. I have a jack with a large towel between the 2 right now just in case.

Also after pulling the driveline i got a bunch of watery oil coming out the back, so the rear seal is toast in the trans, should it possibly be fine or should i start looking for a possible replacement? As far as i know its all original, block to the rear.

Finally, does anyone happen to have all the necessary stuff to replace the clutch assembly, clutch disc, throwout bearing, etc, that you'd be willing to part with for $300 or less? Im 19 and im new to this car. The parts are harder to find but i love Studebakers so thats why im keeping it.

Thanks guys,
    Ryan

Congrats on the the 61 6 with overdrive, that is a fun combo to drive.

It is easier to remove the trans separate from the bell housing. Just the 4 large bolts and pull it straight out since you have removed the other stuff already.

Then you will have to have a way to hold up the back of the engine as the rear motor mounts are on the bell housing. A jack, a block of wood and a wadded up towel placed under the back edge of the oil pan will do the trick. Note that there are special bolts with shoulders at about the 3 and 9 o'clock positions that align the bell to the engine. These must go back in the same place.