Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Engine rebuild update

President Member

Engine rebuild update

My Sky Hawk has been at Thomas Engine Rebuilders in Deer Park LI for five months. Although I have no previous experience with this, it seems like an extraordinarily long time. While there were two cars ahead of mine, and it's a small shop with only three machinists, this still seems like a long time. They say that the reason is that they keep discovering problems which may have contributed to the engine's failure, though there's still no definitive answer to that. The have given me old parts upon my request, and the company has been in business for thirty years. Reviews are mostly very positive and there appears to be no unresolved complaints against that although I plan to investigate further. Removing the car and engine and taking it somewhere else to finish it isn't feasible, and neither is shipping it to someplace across the country on the recommendation of some of our members.The feeling of being helpless and at their mercy is very discomforting. thoughts?
    peter lee

President Member
    not a new development. many shops "tie up" projects when better money comes their way, or more money comes their way. Be patient... others will chime in...

President Member
    I rebuilt a carry in engine, out of the car, in 2 weeks. Including machine shop work, cleaning, boring, heads resurfaced and seats done, and 8 rods recondition.

President Member
    Peter -

What is their excuse for not getting on it, getting it done ?
    It's "really" not a big deal, it's just an internal combustion engine. The biggest thing to watch for is that pesky hidden pipe plug in the distributor housing in the block. That has nothing to do with the machining..!

Mike